The One-Minute Play Festival 2015
by ScriptWorks

Aug. 17 - Aug. 19, 2015

A smorgasbord of tiny plays performed by dozens of actors, in benefit of ScriptWorks programming.

Click for feature by Stephanie Carll in the Austin Chronicle, August 13, 2015

Featuring Brand New One-Minute Plays by: Rita Anderson, Kalli Angel, Allan Baker, Allison Block, James Burnside, Katherine Catmull, Elizabeth Cobbe, Marthy Lynn Coon, Adrienne Dawes, Trey Deason, Elizabeth Doss, Joanna Garner, Raul Garza, Aimee Gonzalez, Larry Herold, Carolyn Kennedy, Christopher Krejci, Thonda Kulhanek, Max Langert, Gianna Marotta, Tegan McLeod, Brian Daniel Oglesby, Jason Rainey, Rupert Reyes, Sheila Riner, Candyce Rusk, Sarah Saltick, Henry Schwemmer, Diana Small, Eva Suter, C. Denby Swanson, Megan Tabaque, Travis Tate, Lisa Thompson, Megan Thorton, Cindy Vining, & Anne Wynter

Directed by Caleb Britton, Derek Kolluri, Jenny Lavery, Christi Moore, Rudy Ramirez, Jerry Ruiz, Will Hollis Snider & Lily Wolf

Curated by Dominic D’Andrea & Caitlin Wees

The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) America’s largest and longest running short form theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea . #1MPF is barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue and consensus building sessions and a performance of many moments. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres sharing playwright or community-specific missions across the country. #1MPF creates locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local cultures of playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.  

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in close to 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog, Salvage Vanguard, ScriptWorks, ACT, Perseverance Theatre, and others.  

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & close to 600 famous, emerging, and midcareer playwrights. For more information visit: 

SCRIPTWORKS exists to support dramatic writers by providing opportunities at all stages in the writing process — from inception through production. SW supports the whole writer, not just an isolated project, and dedicates itself to career advancement as well as artistic growth. Committed to high artistic standards, ScriptWorks seeks to protect the writer’s integrity by encouraging playwright initiative and harnessing collective potential.

The One-Minute Play Festival 2015
by various

August 17 - August 19, 2015
Ground Floor Theatre
979 Springdale Rd
Austin, TX, 78702



Tickets are $20