The One-Minute Play Festival
by ScriptWorks

Aug. 20 - Aug. 22, 2018


The Fifth Annual One-Minute Play Festival, featuring works by:

Robin Anderson, Lowell Bartholomee, Stephen Bittrich, Allison Orr Block, James Burnside, Dan Caffrey, Elizabeth Cobbe, Adrienne Dawes, Trey Deason, Laura Freeman, Amparo Garcia-Crow, C.M. Gill, Aimée Gonzalez, Ava Love Hanna, Reina Hardy, Ty Hoppe, Greg Klein, Tyler Kosmak, Lindsey Lane, Max Langert, Sarah Loucks, Sandy Maranto, Tristan Young Mercado, Nadine Mozon, Briandaniel Oglesby, Nicole Oglesby, Robi Polgar, Marla Porter, Jason Rainey, Rupert Reyes, Nettie Reynolds, Sheila Lynch Rinear, Jelisa Jay Robinson, Greg Romero, Candyce Rusk, Sarah Saltwick, Roxanne Schroeder-Arce, Sally Seitz, Helen Sneed, Eva Suter, C. Denby Swanson, Lisa B. Thompson, Megan Thornton, Minghao Tu, Cindy Vining, Jennine DOC Wright, &  Anne Maria Wynter 

Directed by:  Ellie McBride, Christina J. Moore, Patti Neff-Tiven, Linda Nenno, Kat Sparks, & Anna Skidis Vargas

Curated by: Caitlin Wees & Dominic D’Andrea

The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is a grass-roots community-engaged theatre festival, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea. #1MPF is social barometer practice, which investigates local zeitgeist and narratives through dialogue, consensus building, and a performance of minute-long moments generated by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with traditional theatres, cultural institutions, and social justice institutions sharing educational, community-focused, or public service missions across the country. The aim is to create locally sourced community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. #1MPF includes participants of different points of age, race, culture, gender, socio-economic background, and stage of career. The work attempts to reflect the values, topics, trends, styles, ideas, and big conversations that bubble up to the surface in each community.

Partnerships have been created with theaters in more than 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Jersey, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis, Providence, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Trinity Rep, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks, ACT, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth, and others.   

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & as many as1400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.  For more information visit:

ScriptWorks exists to support dramatic writers by providing opportunities at all stages in the writing process ---from inception through production. ScriptWorks supports the whole writer, not just isolated projects, and dedicates itself to career advancement as well as artistic growth. Our programs encourage members to engage in the creation, development and production of their plays and provide playwrights the resources to network and promote their plays both locally and nationally. Visit us online at

The One-Minute Play Festival
by various

August 20 - August 22, 2018
Ground Floor Theatre
979 Springdale Rd
Austin, TX, 78702



Ground Floor Theatre, 979  Springdale Rd #122, Austin, TX 78702


Tickets are $20 and available at