Austin Critics Table Announces Hall of Fame, Other Recognitions, May 6, 2019

(via Austin Critics Table)

The Austin Critics Table, composed of reviewers both from the print media and from on-line platforms, announces the following awards honoring artists and supporters of the arts for its 26th year of activity:


Austin Arts Hall of Fame

*Toni Bravo

*Margo Sawyer

*Billy Harden

*Girard Kinney



*“Considering Matthew Shepard,” Conspirare live-stream from the National Cathedral

*Leonard Bernstein: “Mass,” Merrick Strategies

*Vincent Valdez: “The City,” Blanton Museum of Art

*“Vaudeville!” Ransom Center

*Palace Theater, Georgetown


John Bustin Award for Conspicuous Versatility

*Delanté Keys, Small Mouth Sounds/*some humans were harmed in the making of this show/Wit/RapUnzel/director, White


Deacon Crain Award for Outstanding Young Performers

*Matthew Kennedy, Texas State University, SummerStock Austin

*Mariela Denson, middle school student, Zach Theatre


Nominations for other categories are scheduled to be announced on Monday, May 13, 2019, and the annual awards ceremony will take place at the Capital City Comedy Club on Monday, June 3. 


Feature by Robert Faires, Austin Chronicle, May 6, 2019